Jeep Wrangler Trim Levels And Configurations Explained



Breaking Down the Jeep Wrangler Trim Levels

Researching Jeep Wrangler trim levels? San Antonio Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram can help.

The Jeep Wrangler is an icon of 4×4 performance, yet not all models are the same. The newest iteration of the SUV comes in a variety of trims and configurations. Take a look at our new Jeep Wrangler inventory, and you’ll see the kind of variety that the nameplate offers.

We’ve taken the time to break down the new Jeep Wrangler trims and show what you can expect to find in each. Read the overview of each trim level below.


Jeep Wrangler Sport

Jeep Wrangler Sport

The Jeep Wrangler Sport may be the base variant among Jeep Wrangler configurations, yet it’s still a compelling package for 4×4 lovers. These base models still come with an impressive list of standard features, including everything you need for quality off-road performance:

  • Command-Trac Part-Time 4×4 System
  • Dana solid front and rear axles
  • Front and rear recovery hooks
  • 32-inch tires
  • Underbody skid plates

Along with off-road features, the Jeep Wrangler Sport offers creature comforts like Uconnect 5 with a 12.3-inch touch screen.

Jeep Wrangler Sport S

Jeep Wrangler Sport S

The new Jeep Wrangler Sport S carries all the standard features of the Jeep Wrangler Sport, plus a few extras. First and foremost, this trim adds several helpful safety features:

  • Full-Speed Forward Collision Warning System
  • Adaptive Cruise Control with Stop
  • Corning Gorilla Glass Windshield
  • Power door locks and windows

You can add a few additional amenities, too. Both an Alpine® audio system and a power roof are available.

Jeep Wrangler Willys

Jeep Wrangler Willys

The Jeep Wrangler Willys is named in honor of the original military vehicles of the 1940s and beyond that continue to inspire the Jeep Wrangler model. This trim strikes a good balance between hardcore off-road capability and strong value.

New Jeep Wrangler Willys models come equipped with several features that enhance its 4×4 performance, such as a locking rear differential and 33-inch off-road tires. It also comes with the added visual flare of a black grille, black decals, and black 17-inch aluminum wheels.

Jeep Wrangler Sahara

Jeep Wrangler Sahara

The Jeep Wrangler Sahara emphasizes convenience and comfort. Its 18-inch wheels, body-color trim pieces, and optional body-color hardtop give the model a slightly more refined appearance than other configurations. Inside the cabin, you’ll find standard heated seats and a heated steering wheel. Plus, the Jeep Wrangler Sahara offers available premium power seats.

Still, the Jeep Wrangler Sahara is more than capable off-road with its standard four-wheel drive system and high ground clearance.

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon

If you’re looking for an SUV optimized for off-road use, you’ll find it in the Jeep Wrangler Rubicon. This trim pulls out all the stops for 4×4 performance with a wide variety of standard and available features:

  • 33-inch off-road all-terrain tires
  • Available 35-inch off-road tires
  • Standard heavy-duty full float rear axle
  • Available 4.88 gear ratio
  • Front and rear locking differentials
  • 4:1 Rock-Trac Heavy-Duty Part-Time Transfer Case
  • Electronic sway bar disconnect
  • Available winch
  • Available steel bumpers

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon X

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon X

The Jeep Wrangler Rubicon X includes all the Rubicon off-road features, plus a wide variety of premium amenities. This added comfort makes the Rubicon X one of the most versatile configurations among the trim levels of Jeep Wrangler models. Highlighted features include Nappa leather upholstery, heated power front seats, and body-color fender flares. It essentially balances the comfort of the Jeep Wrangler Sahara with the capability of the Jeep Wrangler Rubicon.

2022 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon

Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 392

The Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 392 takes the iconic 4×4 to another level with a standard V-8 engine. The 6.4-liter HEMI V-8 generates an impressive 470 horsepower. If you’ve been craving a Jeep Wrangler with old-school American muscle under the hood, this trim fills the role and more.

Some standard features are red Nappa leather premium power seats, a 12.3-inch touch-screen display, a Selec-Trac Full-Time Transfer Case, and 35-inch tires.


Jeep Wrangler 4xe Trim Levels

The Jeep Wrangler 4xe offers a different kind of 4×4 experience. This electrified version of the Jeep Wrangler has a plug-in hybrid powertrain with impressive efficiency and power.

The Jeep Wrangler 4xe trim levels are mostly the same as the conventional Jeep Wrangler, except for one. Here’s a list of the current trims:

  • Jeep Wrangler Sport S 4xe
  • Jeep Wrangler Willys 4xe
  • Jeep Wrangler Sahara 4xe
  • Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 4xe
  • Jeep Wrangler High Altitude 4xe
  • Jeep Wrangler Rubicon X 4xe

The first four trims come with the same standard features and Jeep Wrangler 4xe configurations as the conventional Jeep Wrangler. However, the Jeep Wrangler High Altitude 4xe is an outlier. This edition comes with these standard features:

  • Leather-trimmed 12-way power front seats
  • Sky One-Touch Power Top
  • 20-inch wheels and 32-inch tires
  • Body-color bumpers, door handles, and mirrors
  • Premium Cabin Package
  • Full-Time Transfer Case

Test-Drive a New Jeep Wrangler

If you still need to decide which of the Jeep Wrangler configurations is right for you, visit our dealership for a test drive. Our team can help you explore the available trims and compare their respective features as well as those within our new Jeep Wrangler 4xe inventory.

Once you find a model that suits your taste, we’d be happy to discuss our current Jeep Wrangler lease deals and finance specials.


Frequently Asked Questions About Jeep Wrangler Trim Levels

Which Wrangler trim level is the best for off-roading?

All Wrangler trim levels are good for off-roading, with standard features like four-wheel drive and body-on-frame construction. However, any of the Rubicon variants takes it a step further with an extensive list of off-road features. For example, the Rubicon X has winch-capable steel bumpers, while the Rubicon 392 has a Selec-Trac Full-Time Transfer Case.

What is the top-of-the-range Jeep Wrangler?

The top trim for this iconic 4×4 is the Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 392. It comes with all the off-roading bells and whistles, along with an upgrade under the hood. Its standard 392 HEMI V-8 engine makes a fantastic sound while generating 470 horsepower. Other features include Nappa leather seats, a body-color hardtop, and a 12.3-inch Uconnect display.

Is a Jeep Wrangler Sahara or Jeep Wrangler Rubicon better?

Whether you think the Jeep Wrangler Rubicon or Jeep Wrangler Sahara is better depends on your priorities. The Jeep Wrangler Rubicon pulls out all the stops for off-road performance with locking differentials, sway bar disconnects, and 33-inch off-road tires. The Jeep Wrangler Sahara is designed more for street use with an available power top, 18-inch wheels, and other amenities.


Explore Jeep Wrangler Inventory and Research


San Antonio Dodge Chrysler Jeep RAM 29.5474572, -98.3653432.